Friday, September 16, 2011

‘Blue Skies Tomorrow’ by Sarah Sundin – Book Review

Buzz this

I have been blogging and reviewing long enough now (about a year and a half) that I have had the pleasure of reading entire book series. Such is the case with the Wings of Glory series by the lovely Sarah Sundin. The last book in the series is ‘Blue Skies Tomorrow.’

Here is the synopsis of this book:

In a time of peril, can they find the courage to confront their fears and embrace a love that lasts?
When her husband becomes a casualty of war in the Pacific, Helen Carlisle throws herself into volunteering for the war effort to conceal her feelings. But keeping up appearances as the grieving widow of a hometown hero is taking its toll. Soon something is going to give.
Lt. Raymond Novak prefers the pulpit to the cockpit. His stateside job training B-17 pilots allow him the luxury of a personal life – and a conventional excuse to ignore her deepest fear. When the beautiful Helen catches his eye and captures his heart, he is determined to win her hand.
But when Ray and Helen are called upon to step out in faith and put their reputations and their lives on the line, can they meet the challenges that face them? And can their young love survive until blue skies return?
Filled with drama, daring, and all the romance of the WWII era, Blue Skies Tomorrow is the captivating final book in the popular Wings of Glory series.

Here is the biography of this author:

Sarah Sundin is the author of A Distant Melody and A Memory Between Us. She lives in northern California with her husband, three children, a cat, and a yellow lab prone to eating pens and manuscripts. She works on-call as a hospital pharmacist and teaches Sunday school and women’s Bible studies. Her grand-uncle flew with the U.S. Eighth Air Force in England. Please visit her online at,, or

I’ve had the pleasure to read the other books in this series (you can read my review of ‘A Distant Melodyhere and ‘A Memory Between Ushere. According to Sarah’s website, “I’m currently editing In Every letter, the first book in the Wings of the Nightingale series.” So glad to hear that this talented author – and wonderful lady – has another series on its way!

As with the other books in the series, this book is superb! Sarah has such a talent for writing; it shines through on every page.

Here is one example of a fine piece of writing; her word picture is vivid:

She shifted two-year-old Jay-Jay higher on her hip and inhaled the Delta breeze, flowing fresh from the San Francisco Bay into the Sacramento River Delta, rain-scrubbed and scented by new grass on the hills. (p. 9)

Mrs. Sundin always does a fine job in bringing Jesus into her stories. Here’s an example of the main character Helen’s outreach to the Lord:

        “Lord, help me, I can’t bear it.”
A whisper. The softest whisper in her ear. He knew. Jesus knew what she had endured. He’d endured it too. He was beaten and scarred. He understood.
For the first time, she yielded to his comfort. Jesus didn’t take away her tear, he received them. He didn’t take away the memories, he shared them. He didn’t take away the hurts, he felt them. Somehow, with the Lord, she could bear it. (pp. 142-143)

Sarah’s books in this series bring history to life. She has done a lot of research on life during World War II, on both sides of the pond (in the United States and in Europe). One can learn a lot about the history of our country, and what those in the ‘Greatest Generation’ endured.

The ending was very sweet! I was happy to spend some time with the courageous and amazing Novak brothers, and the lovely women in their lives! And I thank the lovely Mrs. Sundin for sharing these stories with us.

You can order this book here.

This book is published by Revell Publishers and was provided by them for review purposes.


Sarah Sundin said...

Andrea - thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed Ray & Helen's story!

Andrea Schultz said...

Hi, Sarah. Thanks for stopping by! And you're very welcome. Thanks for writing another terrific - and God-honoring - book.

Clicky Web Analytics